Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Last year was the learning curve.  I made mistakes.  Believed in the good of others while receiving the reality of greed.  All the while taking a major step out on faith and increasing the awareness of the

  brand!  Now, on the eve of my 33rd birthday and days away from the official Year of the Dragon (excitement, exhiliration, and intensity)…with promise, I PROCLAIM that something GREAT is baking in the oven for 2012!  Here’s what’s already on the itinerary:

Sugar & Champagne – the name alone eminates elegance, sophistication, and sweetness!  The Washington Humane Society will host its 11th annual reception honoring crusaders against animal cruelty.  I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to be apart of something that I am very sympathetic towards.  Myself, along with other celebrity chefs, will offer up sweet confections to attendees at the distinguished Ronald Reagan Building in Washington, DC.  And yes, Gabby Cakes will be in the building!  Take a look at last year’s affair and follow their blog: Sugar & Champagne.

 

Lewes Polar Bear Plunge  I thoroughly enjoyed myself last year at this event.  I’d seen this new phenom of jumping into the ocean during the winter season on television.  I was intrigued, but also, reluctant to submit my easy to catch a cold immune system to such fragile and vulnerable conditions! First of all, minus the crazed plunge in 30 degrees water, it was for an awesome cause, Special Olympics.  I am all about giving back to others!  In the beginning of my teaching career, I taught Special Education.  So this year, I’m packing the scuba gear, over-sized sweater, and amoxicillin to prepare myself for the PLUNGE! The organizers, attendants, and the entire Rehoboth Beach community were so welcoming and eager to meet us!  Again, this year, we will compete for the winning cake as onlookers ask questions and pose for photo-ops! Here’s our winning cake from last year:

2011 Plunge Competition - our winning cake on display.

Dana, Corina, and me beside our cake!

Cupcake Revolution – sponsored by the American Cancer Society.  Myself, along with fellow NGB contestants, will judge cupcake entries from an array of flavors and designs.  My belly is ready!  I believe there’s still time to enter, all ages and levels welcome…click here!  February 12 at Barclays in Wilmington, DE 12-4p.

KC Cake Fest – TEAM DANA! Along with NGB Season One winner, Dana Herbert…we will compete amongst celebrity cake artists for the Kansas City: Past, Present, and Future winning cake!  I am so eager to meet many of the master cake artists I have admired for years! March 4,5 in the fabulous city of Kansas City of course!

Of course this is just the beginning of a much anticipated year of do better and work smart.  I pray that last year’s assignments reap a much needed extra credit for 2012. Please be kind 2012…make me laugh and make me smile and make it sweet!  I believe the inner-workings of this year, holds empathy in its heart for the naivete and humility of a sweet, young country girl, with a love for baking!

